EU ministers believe that the Schengen area needs to be restored first.

The countries of the European Union have decided to extend the restrictions on the entry of third-country nationals, including Ukrainians, after June 15.

This was stated by European Commissioner Ilva Johansson following a meeting of EU interior ministers, European Truth reports.

“Ministers strongly supported the need to restore the Schengen area and then move to the opening of external borders,” Johansson said.

According to her, the European Commission recommended ending the restriction on crossing the EU’s external borders on June 15, when the ban expires, but almost all member states supported a brief continuation of border closures.

“This means that restrictions at the external borders will remain until the end of June, and I believe that we should consider lifting them in early July,” she said.

Consultations between the European Commission and the member states will continue in the coming days on the criteria for which countries and when to open borders.

EU Commissioner Ilva Johansson also noted that the full functioning of the Schengen area will resume by the end of June.

As UNIAN reported, the European Union is developing “tourist corridors” between the countries least affected by the coronavirus. This will resume tourism for Europeans in the summer.